About Us


The Slavic Linguistics Society (SLS) supports the international community of scholars and students interested in the systematic and scholarly study of the Slavic languages. It aspires to be as open and inclusive as possible; no school, framework, approach, or theory is presupposed. As Roman Jakobson declared (paraphrasing Terence), Linguista sum; linguistici nihil a me alienum puto `I am a linguist; I consider nothing linguistic foreign to me’.


The SLS was born in December 2004 from a roundtable at the annual meeting of the American Association of Teachers of Slavic and East European Languages (AATSEEL). Prof. Steven Franks (Indiana University) organized the roundtable and subsequently served as the first Chair of the Slavic Linguistics Society’s Executive Board.

The SLS is governed by an Executive Board consisting of six members selected for three-year staggered terms. A list of current Board members is available HERE.


The organization’s bylaws are available HERE.



Since 2006, the SLS has organized an annual scholarly meeting in coordination with host institutions. Meeting locations rotate among continents. A list of past and future conferences is available HERE.


The official journal of the SLS is the Journal of Slavic Linguistics. A subscription to the journal is included with an SLS membership.

Mailing List

Members are encouraged to join the SLS Google Group by signing in with a Google account. Members are also encouraged to post any notices or queries on the SLS Facebook page.

Support for young Slavic linguists

Graduate Student Travel Awards:  Several awards are offered each year to help offset the cost of travel to the annual meeting. Awardees are selected based on the quality of submitted abstracts.

Charles E. Townsend Memorial Award: Annual award of a lifetime membership in the SLS. Past recipients.  See HERE for current and past awardees.

Scroll to Top